Centennial Seminar Series

Dr. Galip Ulsoy

C.D. Mote, Jr. Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
William Clay Ford Professor Emeritus of Manufacturing
University of Michigan (UM), Ann Arbor

Co-Design of a Smart Artifact and Its Controller

Most engineered systems (e.g., vehicles, factories, even appliances and homes) are now smart products, which include sensing and control capabilities. Typically engineers first design an  artifact (e.g., engine, axis drive) and then, given that artifact, design its controller.(i.e., engine control unit, cross-coupled servo controller). Such a sequential design process is both convenient organizationally as well as simpler computationally.  Nevertheless, a combined (rather than sequential) design of the artifact and its controller can often yield better overall system performance.  In this talk we formulate these two design problems as optimization problems, and quantify the coupling between the two problems. When the coupling is weak, the convenient sequential approach can be used to achieve near system optimal performance.  When the coupling is strong, one can achieve better performance through a combined design (or co-design) approach. We also discuss the use of a Control Proxy Function (CPF) in the artifact design problem to achieve near system optimal design while maintaining the convenience of sequential design. These ideas are illustrated with applications to the design of a passive/active suspension and a MEMS actuator .

Galip Ulsoy is the C.D. Mote, Jr. Distinguished University Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering (ME) and the William Clay Ford Professor Emeritus of Manufacturing at University of Michigan (UM), Ann Arbor. He received the Ph.D. from University of California at Berkeley (1979), the M.S. degree from Cornell University (1975), and the B.S. degree from Swarthmore College (1973). He has served as Chair of ME at UM, as Director of Civil and Mechanical Systems Division at the National Science Foundation (NSF), as Deputy Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Reconfigurable Manufacturing Systems, and as President of the American Automatic Control Council (AACC). His research interests are in the dynamics and control of mechanical systems. He has received numerous awards, including the AACC's 1993 O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, the 2003 and the 2016 Rudolf Kalman Best Paper Award from the J. Dynamic Systems, Measurement and Control, the 2008 Albert M. Sargent Progress Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), the 2008 Rufus T. Oldenburger Medal, the 2013 Charles Russ Richards Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the 2014 Hideo Hanafusa Outstanding Investigator Award in Flexible Automation.  He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, received the 2012 Presidential Special Award from the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey, and is a Fellow of ASME, SME, Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC).